blank LMU Munich TS Group, LMU
print
 

Our Awesome Group Members

Jump To: PhDs, Postdocs, Masters, Interns, CytoSwitch, NanoCapture

PhD Students

L. Gao Li Gao, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Trauner group, LMU; Work Internship: Bayer)

Li was the first to join the Group, in 2017.01. With a background in organic synthesis, he now works on the synthesis of topoisomerase-targeted pharmacogenic prodrugs and photoswitchable inhibitors, as well as semisynthesis of natural product photoswitches.
li.gao@cup.lmu.de; C1.011; +49 89 2180-77926
A. Müller-Deku Adrian Müller-Deku, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Didier group, LMU; Work Internships: Solvay and Bayer)

Adrian joined the Group in 2017.10 and has a background in organic and inorganic synthesis. His projects focus on the synthesis of tubulin-targeted photoswitchable inhibitors and chemical biology reagents.
adrian.mueller-deku@cup.lmu.de; C01.011; +49 89 2180-77232
Y. Kraus Yvonne Kraus, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Gerisch group, MPI; Work Internships: BCA Augsburg and MPI)

Yvonne joined the group in 2017.05 then started her PhD in 2018.01. She is evaluating photoswitchable reagents for subcellular control over the tubulin cytoskeleton.
yvonne.kraus@cup.lmu.de; C0.065; +49 89 2180-77227
A. Sailer Alexander Sailer, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Holzgrabe group, Würzburg / Szklarzewicz group, Cracow)

Alexander started with us in 2018.06, working on the synthesis of diverse families of photoswitches to modulate cell survival and biophysical properties, and with a strong sideline in fluorescence.
alexander.sailer@cup.lmu.de; C1.011; +49 89 2180-77926
J. Felber Jan Felber, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Thorn-Seshold group, LMU Munich; Work Internship: Bayer)

Jan joined us in 2018.01 for a Masters and returned after a stint at Bayer, starting his PhD in 2018.11. Jan's background is in organic synthesis which he has balanced with in vitro biology, focussing on the synthesis and applications of probes for redox biology.
jan.felber@cup.lmu.de; C1.009; +49 89 2180-77925
M. Müller Markus Müller, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Gulder group, TUM; Industry: Boehringer-Ingelheim)

Markus joins us in 2019.09 with a background in organic synthesis, working on TRP channel probes and synthetic methodology.
markus-mueller@cup.lmu.de (note: minus!) C1.009; +49 89 2180-77231
B. Winkler Ben Winkler, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Schneider group, ETH Zürich; Work Internship: Roche Diagnostics)

Ben joins us in 2019.11 for a PhD involving TRP channel modulators and photoredox probes.
benedikt.winkler@cup.lmu.de; C1.011; +49 89 2180-77232

Postdocs

Masters Students and Scholars

L. Zeisel Lukas Zeisel

Lukas joined the group in 2019.05 with a background in organic synthesis and pharmaceutical chemistry. In his MSc he is synthesising tricky redox-activated prodrugs for cell biology.
l.zeisel@campus.lmu.de; C1.009;+49 89 2180-77926
R. Bingham Bekkah Bingham

Bekkah did her BSc and internships with us in 2017-2018, on synthesis and characterisation of MRI-active and fluorescent nanoparticles. In 2019 did her Masters on tubulin biochemistry and is now interning again.
r.bingham@campus.lmu.de; C1.011;+49 89 2180-77232
P. Mauker Philipp Mauker

Philipp joins us in 2019.10 for an MSc on synthesis of fluorogenic compounds and conjugates.
p.mauker@campus.lmu.de; C1.051;+49 89 2180-77228
M. Scheck Magdalena Scheck

Magdalena joins us in 2019.10 for an interim scholarship in cell biology.
m.scheck@campus.lmu.de; K0.036;+49 89 2180-71035

Project CytoSwitch

CytoSwitch Team
Tilmann Petersen (VivoCell, Pioneers.io) joined in 2018.03, with a background in biotech and tech entrepreneurship, and co-leads the CytoSwitch translational project. Dr. Elena Longhi (PhD: Licandro, Uni. Milan; Postdocs: de Cola, Uni. Strasbourg; Marder, Georgia Tech) joined in 2018.10 as a synthetic chemist with experience in photoactives, and heads compound creation in the project. Dr. Wen-Hsin Liu (PhD: Sun Yat-Sen University; Postdoc: Jeremias, Helmholtz; Fässler, MPI) joined in 2019.03 and with her experience in in vivo biology is responsible for the project's in vivo science. Dr. Marcel Klingenberg (PhD: Diederichs, DKFZ Heidelberg) joined in 2019.04 and with his cell & molecular biology background is working on the biological evaluations.
Rooms: K0.032/036; Phone: +49 89 2180-71034/71035 (EL: Room: C1.009; Phone: 77925).
tilmann.petersen@cup.lmu.de; elena.longhi@cup.lmu.de; wen-hsin.liu@cup.lmu.de; marcel.klingenberg@cup.lmu.de

Project NanoCapture

NanoCap Team
Dr. Petar Marinković (PhD: Misgeld, TUM; Postdoc: Herms, DZNE) joined the Group in 2017.04 with a background in in vivo imaging and neuroscience, and co-leads the NanoCapture translational project. Dr. Julia Ahlfeld (PhD: Schüller, LMU Hospital; Postdoc: Rothenfusser, LMU Hospital) joined the Group in 2018.07 with experience in in vivo disease models and in clinical trials, and is responsible for the project's in vivo science. Constanze Heise (Prev: Immunopharmacology, LMU University Hospital) joins the Group in 2019.04 as a highly experienced lab scientist running in vivo assays in the project. Monique Preuße (Prev: Immunopharmacology, LMU University Hospital) also joins the Group in 2019.04 as a lab scientist for in vitro and in vivo work in the project. Dr. Stefanie Sperling (PhD: Zimber-Strobl, TUM) joins the Group in 2019.09 with experience in in vivo biology, and is working on the in vivo science. Dr. Kathrin Klar (PhD: da Costa, TUM Immunology; Industry: ImevaX GmbH) joins the Group in 2019.10 with experience running a human clinical Phase I trial, and is translational lead in NanoCapture.
Rooms: K0.032/36 (BioSysM); Phone: +49 89 2180-71034/71035 (CH/MP: C0.057, -77224).
petar.marinkovic@cup.lmu.de; julia.ahlfeld@cup.lmu.de; constanze.heise@cup.lmu.de; monique.preusse@cup.lmu.de; stefanie.sperling@cup.lmu.de; kathrin.klar@cup.lmu.de

Interns

Positions vacant, just apply!

Paula Ruppel

Paula joins Li for a summer research internship synthesising photoswitchable toxins and fluorophores. Expect high Stokes shifts.
Room: C1.011; Phone: +49 89 2180-77926
L. Pettersson Linda Pettersson

Linda joins Alex for a summer research internship on semisynthetic TRP channel inhibitors.
Room: C1.011; Phone: +49 89 2180-77926