blank LMU Munich TS Group, LMU

Collaboration Networks and Funding

Current Funding

2023-2025: Boehringer-Ingelheim Stiftung Exploration grant, SuperFluorophores.

2022-2024: Boehringer-Ingelheim Stiftung Exploration grant, High-precision enzyme activity imaging in vivo.

2019-2023: DFG SPP1926 Next Generation Optogenetics cluster project High-performance photoswitches for biology (with K. Lang & M. Sumser).

2018-: DFG Emmy Noether group, Chemical approaches for characterising and controlling physiological microtubule composition and dynamics.

2017-2024: DFG SFB1032 "Nanoagents for Spatiotemporal Control" cluster project B09, Photoswitchable reagents for control of biological function.

Reagent Development

As of 2022, we have delivered our photoswitchable microtubule inhibitor reagents (PST, SBTub, AzTax famillies) to around 220 research groups around the world for applications in embryonic development, cell biology, and neuroscience. The SBTub series is particularly succeeding for animal applications (fish, fly, worm, etc) due to its metabolic robustness and since GFP-imaging does not interfere with its photoisomer patterning.

We recently started distributing our oxidoreductase imaging probes (RX1 probe for TrxR1, S6 probes for dithiol reductases), and our dichalcogenide linker/adapter library, to the redox community.

These reagents will also be commercially available from 2023.

Completed Grants

2018-2022: DFG SFB152 “TRiPs to Homeostasis” cluster project P24, Photoresponsive reagents for modulating TRP channel function.
2019-2022: BMBF GO-Bio spinoff grant: Tumour Targeting of Nanoparticles (NanoCapture project).
Previously supported by BMBF Innovation Biotechnologie Expansion grant (2017 – 2019) and BMBF Proof of Concept grant (2016 – 2017).
2020: The LMUExcellent Junior Researcher Fund supported our Probes for Redox Biology research programme.
2017-2020: BMWi EXIST-FT spinoff grant: Photopharmaceuticals for Cancer Therapy (CytoSwitch project).
Previously supported by the Bavarian FLÜGGE program (2016-2017).