blank LMU Munich TS Group, LMU
print
 

Our Awesome Group Members

Jump To: PhDs and Postdocs, Masters, Interns, CytoSwitch, NanoCapture

PhD Students

L. Gao Li Gao, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Trauner, LMU; Industry: Bayer)
Li was the first to join the Group, starting his PhD in 2017.01 and helping enormously to get our research running. With a background in organic synthesis, he now works on the synthesis of topoisomerase-targeted pharmacogenic prodrugs and photoswitchable inhibitors, as well as semisynthesis of natural product photoswitches.
li.gao@cup.lmu.de; C1.011; +49 89 2180-77926
Adrian Müller-Deku, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Didier, LMU; Industry: Solvay and Bayer)

Adrian started his PhD in 2017.10 and has a background in organic and inorganic synthesis. His projects focus on the synthesis of tubulin-targeted photoswitchable inhibitors and chemical biology reagents, and he is in charge of our weekly Synthesis Denksports (Thursday ~1230).
adrian.mueller-deku@cup.lmu.de; C01.011; -77232
Yvonne Kraus, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Gerisch, MPI; Work Internships: BCA Augsburg and MPI)

Yvonne joined the group in 2017.05 then started her PhD in 2018.01. She is evaluating photoswitchable reagents for subcellular control over the tubulin cytoskeleton.
yvonne.kraus@cup.lmu.de; C0.065; -77227
A. Sailer Alexander Sailer, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Holzgrabe, Würzburg & Szklarzewicz, Cracow)

Alexander started his PhD with us in 2018.06, working on the synthesis of diverse families of photoswitches to modulate cell survival and biophysical properties, and with a strong sideline in fluorescence.
alexander.sailer@cup.lmu.de; C1.011; -77926
J. Felber Jan Felber, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Thorn-Seshold, LMU; Industry: Bayer)

Jan joined us in 2018.01 for a Masters and returned after a stint at Bayer, starting his PhD in 2018.11. Jan's background is in organic synthesis which he has balanced with in vitro biology, focussing on the synthesis and applications of probes for redox biology.
jan.felber@cup.lmu.de; C1.009; -77925
M. Müller Markus Müller, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Gulder, TUM; Industry: Boehringer-Ingelheim)

Markus joined us for his PhD in 2019.09, with a background in organic and natural product synthesis. He is working on photoresponsive TRP channel probes and chemical probe methodology.
markus-mueller@cup.lmu.de (NB: minus!); C1.009; -77231
B. Winkler Ben Winkler, M.Sc
(M.Sc: Schneider, ETH Zürich; Industry: Roche Diagnostics)

Ben joined us in 2019.11 for a PhD involving TRP channel modulators and photoredox probes.
benedikt.winkler@cup.lmu.de; C1.011; -77232
L. Zeisel Lukas Zeisel
(Internship: Toste, UCB; M.Sc: Thorn-Seshold, LMU; Industry: Bayer)

Lukas joined us in 2019.05 for his MSc and will return for PhD in 2020 after an internship at Bayer. With a strong background in organic synthesis, he is synthesising tricky redox-activated prodrugs for cell biology and in vivo therapy.
lukas.zeisel@cup.lmu.de; C1.009; -77926
L. Poczka Lena Poczka
(medical student)

Lena joined us in 2020.03 for Dr. med. research into redox biology under Julia Ahlfeld.
lena.poczka@cup.lmu.de; K0.036; -71035

Masters Students and Scholars

M. Maier Dr. Martin Maier
(MSc & PhD: Trauner, LMU/NYU)

Martin joined us in 2020.04 with extensive experience in total synthesis and in photopharmacology, and is now postdoc'ing on the synthesis of redox biology probes and prodrugs.
martin.maier@cup.lmu.de; C1.009; -77925
P. Mauker Philipp Mauker
(Internship: Hall, Newcastle; Industry: Bayer Wuppertal)

Philipp joined us in 2019.10 for an MSc on synthesis of fluorogenic compounds and cell-permeation probes.
philipp.mauker@cup.lmu.de; C1.009; -77925
D. Lonken Dominik Lonken

Dominik joined us in 2020.01 for his MSc in pharmaceutical sciences, looking at the biochemistry of reagents designed for subcellular photocontrol of microtubules.
dominik.lonken@cup.lmu.de; C0.065; -77224
E. Ntouliou Evi Ntouliou

Evi joined us in 2020.01 for a scholarship exploring the biology applications of reagents for the subcellular photocontrol of microtubules.
evangelia.ntouliou@cup.lmu.de; K0.036; -71035

Project CytoSwitch

Tilmann Petersen (VivoCell, Pioneers.io) joined in 2018.03, with a background in biotech and tech entrepreneurship, and co-leads the CytoSwitch translational project. Dr. Elena Longhi (PhD: Licandro, Uni. Milan; Postdocs: de Cola, Uni. Strasbourg; Marder, Georgia Tech) joined in 2018.10 as a synthetic chemist with experience in photoactives, and heads compound creation in the project. Dr. Wen-Hsin Liu (PhD: Sun Yat-Sen University; Postdoc: Jeremias, Helmholtz; Fässler, MPI) joined in 2019.03 and with her experience in in vivo biology is responsible for the project's in vivo science. Dr. Marcel Klingenberg (PhD: Diederichs, DKFZ Heidelberg) joined in 2019.04 and with his cell & molecular biology background is working on the biological evaluations.
K0.036 (BioSysM); +49 89 2180-71035; EL: C1.009, -77925.
tilmann.petersen@cup.lmu.de; elena.longhi@cup.lmu.de; wen-hsin.liu@cup.lmu.de; marcel.klingenberg@cup.lmu.de

Project NanoCapture

NanoCap in the time of Corona

NanoCap Team
Dr. Petar Marinković (PhD: Misgeld, TUM; Postdoc: Herms, DZNE) joined the Group in 2017.04 with a background in in vivo imaging and neuroscience, and leads translation in project NanoCapture. Dr. Julia Ahlfeld (PhD: Schüller, LMU Hospital; Postdoc: Rothenfusser, LMU Hospital) joined the Group in 2018.07 with experience in in vivo cancer and disease models and in a clinical trial, and leads NanoCapture's in vivo science. Constanze Heise and Monique Preuße (Prev: Immunopharmacology, LMU Hospital) both joined in 2019.04 as lab scientists for in vivo and in vitro work in the project.
The in vivo team are completed by Dr. Stefanie Sperling (PhD: Zimber-Strobl, TUM), in vivo biologist (joined 2019.09); Danica Bajic (PhD: Stein-Thoeringer, TUM), immunobiologist (joined 2019.12); and Dr. Jasmin Kuhn (PhD: Wagner, LMU), in vivo biologist and pharmaceutical scientist (joined 2020.04). Dr. Annabel Kitowski (PhD: Bernades, Lisbon) is our chemical biologist and is working on analytics and chemistry translation for in vivo studies (joined 2020.03).
K0.032 (BioSysM) +49 89 2180-71034; CH: C0.057, -77224.
petar.marinkovic@cup.lmu.de; julia.ahlfeld@cup.lmu.de; constanze.heise@cup.lmu.de; monique.preusse@cup.lmu.de; stefanie.sperling@cup.lmu.de; danica.bajic@cup.lmu.de; annabel.kitowski@cup.lmu.de; jasmin.kuhn@cup.lmu.de

Interns

Positions vacant, just apply!

Paula Ruppel

Paula did a HiWiship with Li in summer 2019 synthesising photoswitchable toxins, and returned in 2020 for a BSc with Jan on more toxic drugs than those.
Room: C1.009; -77925
Julia Rauh

Julia has been doing a synthesis HiWi with Jan from 2019-2020 on redox-activated probes.
Room: C1.009; -77925